Sunday , 22 September 2019
Breaking News

Chandrani: Youngest MP in India

In a first, a 25-year-old engineering graduate from Odisha has become the youngest Member of Parliament to the 17th Lok Sabha. Odisha has a total of seven women MPs, making it the first state ever to have 33 per cent or the largest share of women MPs of its total of 21 seats.

Chandrani, who has replaced Dushyant Chautala, was elected as Biju Janata Dal (BJD) candidate from the Keonjhar seat, as the youngest parliamentarian in the country. She represents the tribal-dominated Keonjhar.

All about Chandrani, the youngest MP

At the age of 25 years and 11 months, Murmu created history by becoming the youngest Lok Sabha member ever.

A few months ago, she was just like any other girl who was searching for a job after completing her BTech from Bhubaneswar-based SOA University in 2017 and preparing for competitive exams.

“I was in search of a job after completing my engineering degree. I had never thought that I would enter politics and become an MP. My nomination was unexpected and came out of the blue,” said Chandrani.

She expressed her gratitude to the people of Keonjhar and BJD chief Naveen Patnaik for giving her the opportunity to serve the people.

Chandrani, a greenhorn in politics, said she would like to come up to the expectations pinned on her by the youth and women besides the tribals in her region. She is clear on developing a mechanism to accelerate the delivery of results, instead of making tall promises that cannot be kept.

 Chandrani said her major focus was on generating employment in her region, and that she would not leave any stone unturned to accelerate setting up of new industries.

“It is unfortunate that the employment crisis is high in a mineral-rich district like Keonjhar. I will represent the youth and women of my state at the Centre,” she said.

Chandrani was pitted against two-time MP from BJP Ananta Nayak, who was defeated by a margin of 66,203 votes.

(HT Media)

Check Also

Who will be crowned?

Thirteen finalists from Goa will be competing for The Miss International Goa crown. The winner …