Thursday , 19 September 2019
Breaking News

Goa make light work of Saurashtra

MARGAO: Captain Tejashwini Duragad claimed impressive figures of five for 8 as Goa thrashed Saurashtra by eight wickets to record their fifth straight victory in the BCCI Womens U-19 Cricket Tournament, at MCC Ground, Margao on Friday.

Duragad’s brilliance with the ball saw Saurashtra’s innings folded for a paltry 49 in 38.1 overs. Goa overhauled the paltry 50-run winning target in just 14.2 overs but did lose two wickets in the process.

Earlier, Saurashtra won the toss and elected to bat first with an aim to put up a big score against a formidable Goan side who were yet to concede a defeat in the tournament so far. However their decision seemed to have backfired as they received early blow when opener Sujan Sama was dismissed for a duck caught by Shindiya Naik off the bowling of Goa’s strike bowler Sejal Satardekar, with only 2 runs on the scoreboard. The next batter T Dharani and opener at other end Hirva V combined well to take Saurashtra’s total to 25 when Goa’s another new ball bowler Avisha Gurudas struck to remove T Dharani for 11. Hirva V, who was playing well at the other end, was however run out on 10 leaving the visitors struggling at 33 for 3.

After that Saurashtra’s remaining wickets fell like ninepins as Goa captain Tejashwini Duragad played havoc, taking 5 wickets for just 8 runs in 10 overs, which also included 3 maidens. Except Hira V and T Dharani none of the Saurashtra batters could reach the double digit.

Diksha Gawde, who starred for Goa with a five-wicket haul in their last match victory against Jammu and Kashmir, could however take only one wicket in 8.1 overs. Savali Kolambkar contributed with one wicket as Saurashtra’s innings folded at 49.

Goa made a solid start in reply to the small target, as the opening pair of Purvaja Verlekar and Shindiya Naik put on 40 runs in 10.1 overs before the former departed after making 27-ball 22, which had two hits to the fence. With another 10 runs needed for the win, captain Tejashwini Duragad joined Shindiya but she was dismissed cheaply for just one run. Next batter Diksha Gawde along with Shindiya then completed the winning formalities as Shindiya scored unbeaten on 21 while Diksha remained not out on 3.

Saurashtra’s Sujan Sama and M Modhvadiya were among the wickets that fell in Goa’s innings.

Check Also

Guirdolim SC seal quarters spot after easy win

Cansaulim: Goals from Melwin Carvalho, Safik Sheikh and Richard D’Sa enabled Guirdolim SC to register …