Wednesday , 21 August 2019
Breaking News

Vidyadhiraj Award to be presented to Annapoorna Kini on April 7




The prestigious Shree Vidyadhiraj Award for the Year 2017 of Shree Samsthan Gokarn Partagali Jeevottam Mutt will be presented to Dr Annapoorna Kini, professor of medicine and director of cardiac catheterization laboratory at Mount Sinai Medical Centre, USA for her achievement in cardiac care on April 7 at 10.30 am at Partagali Mutt, Canacona on the occasion of the 66th Punyatithi of Shree Indirakant Teerth Swamiji.

Dr Annapoorna Kini was born at Puttur, South Canara. She has been a professor of cardiology at New York for the past two decades and has also bagged a number of awards including the highest honour of the government of New York. Dr Kini has been identified as one of the safest intervention cardiologists in New York. She has been credited as the only lady doctor to conduct over thousand intervention coronary surgeries in a year.

The prestigious Vidyadhiraj Award is been conferred for the first time to a lady. The Shree Jeevottam Award will also be presented to Venkatray Prabhu of Dharwad, a retired general manager of Canara Bank and Dr Rajan Kunkolienkar a retired medical superintendent of Goa Medical College.

The Shree Purshottam Awards will be presented to Vedamurty Acharya of Mumbai and Senapur Laxminarayan Acharya of Gangolli of Udupi district in recognition of their dedicated service of HH Guruswami Srimad Vidyadhiraj Teerth and Shishya Swami Srimad Vidyadheesh teerth. The president of the Central Mutt Committee Shrinivas Dempo has said that the Shree Vidhyadhiraj award ceremony will be held on April 7.


Check Also

‘Reorganisation of J&K is internal matter of India’

Washington: The reorganisation of Jammu and Kashmir is an internal matter of India and it …