Goa’s Anura starts with a flourish


Peddem, Mapusa
Goa’s Anura Prabhudesai needed 25 minutes to defeat Anuprabha R of Tamil Nadu to enter the round of 32 in the Senior All India Badminton Ranking Tournament organised by the Goa Badminton Association (GBA) at SAG stadium in Peddem on Thursday.
Seventh seeded Anura started both her games conceding the first point to her rival but as the game progressed, she tore through Anuprabha’s game winning 21-15, 21-11.
Anura started cautiously in the initial stages of the game, employing a straight forward serve and started using variations in serve when the result was evident.
Playing in Goa after long time, Anura entertained her home fans with her delectable play at the net, high rallies and making her opponent move back and forth with her play switching from the net to the forecourt.
Through the twenty five minutes of play, there was just one long rally with Anuprabha, hardly being able to match Anura’s variation or powerful smashes.
Anjana Kumari from Goa also registered a facile 21-17, 21-5 win in over Rhythm Kukreja from Delhi. Another Goan in the main draw, Anar Singbal succumbed to a 21-12, 21-10 loss to Assam’s Chimran Kalita.
In Men’s Singles Main Draw Round of 64, Goa’s Sunny Sawant lost to Pallav Joshi (UTR) in a 21-16 21-12 score line while Aashrun Gautam (Goa) lost 17-21, 6-21 to Shamanth Ro Kidiyoor.
Most of the top India ranked players who were seen in action on opening day of the main draw sailed through to seal their place in the Round of 32. The championship which is underway at Peddem Sports Complex is selection for the prestigious Badminton Asia Team championships 2020 to be held in Malaysia in February. Following are the important results:
Women’s Singles (Round of 64): Ashmita Chaliha (ASM) [3] beat (HAR) Nishtha Dembla 21-6, 21-10; Shruti Mundada (MAH) [9] beat (WB) Rupsa Ghosh 21-12, 21-11; Anura Prabhudesai (GOA)[7] beat (TN) Anuprabha R. 21-15 21-11; Chimran Kalita (ASM) beat (GOA) Anar Singbal 21-12, 21-10; Shriyanshi Pardeshi (MP) beat (UP) Rudrani Jaiswal 21-12, 21-6;
Vaidehi Choudhari (MAH) [5] beat (AP) Tanishq M. 19-21, 21-9, 21-18; Ira Sharma (HAR) [12] (KER) Anjali Pradip 21-15, 21-11; Riya Mookerjee (RLY) [4] beat (GUJ) Jui Shah 21-9, 21-15;
Anjana Kumari (GOA) beat (DLI) Rhythm Kukreja 21-17, 21-5; Vaishnavi Bhale (MAH) [11] beat (HAR) Lalita Dahiya 21-12, 21-16; Malvika Bansod (AAI) [2] beat (CAG) Sara Naqvi 21-4, 21-12.
Men’s Singles (Round of 64): Aryamann Tandon (GUJ) [1] beat (UP) Abhyansh Singh 21-19, 22-20; Alap Mishra (MP) [7] beat (KTK) Hemanth MG 21-16, 21-17; Rohit Yadav C. (CAG) [13] beat (RAJ) Parth Mehata 21-17, 23-21; Siril Verma ASS (TS) [4] beat (TN) Kevin Arokia Walter 21-10, 21-14; Kartikey Gulshankumar (DLI) [8] beat (DLI) Arjun Rehani 21-10, 21-14;
Pallav Joshi (UTR) beat (GOA) Sunny Sawant 21-16, 21-12; Chirag Sen (AAI) [5] beat (HAR) Abhishek Saini 21-15, 22-20; Bodhit Joshi (UTR) [3] beat (TN) Srivatsav Duwari 21-16, 20-22 21-9; Mithun M (AI) [14] beat (DLI) Nikhil Mehlawat 21-14, 21-14; Rahul Yadav C. (TS) [6] beat (HAR) Gautam Arora 21-16, 21-18; Sai Charan Koya (AI) beat (KER) Kiran George[9] 21-13, 21-15.