Konkani Bhasha Mandal’s 58th Foundation Day to go online



Konkani Bhasha Mandal will celebrate its 58th Foundation Day on September 30, 5 p.m. online. Chief guest on the occasion will be writer and folklore researcher, Jayanti Naik.

During the event, the winners of its yearly awards in the field of literature, service, education, journalism, column writing and children’s literature will address the audience. The event will also feature Konkani musicals and dance performances.

The event is open to all and will be available live on the Facebook page of the Konkani Bhasha Mandal. Awards will be presented to the recipients at a later stage once the COVID-19 pandemic is under control.

The Konkani Bhasha Mandal Service Award will be awarded to Harishchandra Nagvenkar; the Serafino Cotta sponsored Felicio Cardozo Memorial Teacher Award will be awarded to Prakash Vazrikar; the Juje Piedade Quadros Memorial Activist Award will be awarded to late Nityanand Naik; the Ligorio Furtado Trust Award for Journalism will be awarded to Jose Salvadore Fernandes; the Dinesh Manerkar-sponsored Chandrakant Keni Memorial Award for Best Columnist/ Column Writing will be awarded to Ulhas Nayak; the Dinesh Manerkar-sponsored Ramnath Manerkar Memorial Award for Translation will be awarded to Manikrao Ram Nayak Gaunekar; the Narsimha Damodar Naik Award for Literature will be awarded to Anthony Barkur; the late Rock Barreto Award for Literature will be awarded to Shailendra Mehta; the Konkani Bhasha Mandal Award for Literature will be awarded to Mario Menezes; the Manoharrai Sardesai Children’s Literature Award will be awarded to Nayana Adarkar.

The jury panel for literary awards comprises Prakash Vazrikar, Vasant Bhagwant Sawant and Guadalupe Dias; the jury panel for literature awards comprises Prashanti Talpankar, Ramnath Gawde and Ratnamala Divkar; the jury panel for service awards comprises Fausto da Costa, Sandesh Prabhudesai and Zilu Gaonkar; the jury panel for activist awards comprises Prakash Parienkar, Serafin Cota and Prashant Naik; the jury panel for teacher’s awards comprises Aruna Patnekar, Sudesh Naik and Anant Agni; the jury panel for journalism and columnist awards comprises Marcos Gonsalves, Tukaram Shet and Anil Pai.

(The function will be held on September 30, 5 p.m. live on Facebook. Details: https://www.facebook.com/KonkaniBhasha