Monday , 23 September 2019
Breaking News

Salgaocar FC finish on top; Dempo SC fourth




Salgaocar Football Club won the All India Football Federation’s (AIFF) U-18 (Goa Zone) Youth League title after defeating Sporting Clube de Goa by a solitary goal at Duler Stadium on Wednesday. Salgaocar FC topped the Goa Zone with twenty four points and are followed by FC Goa who are second on 18 points and a game in hand.

In another last round match at SFA ground, Sirssaim, Dempo Sports Club defeated Sesa Football Academy, also by a solitary goal, to finish fourth with 13 points. Sesa FA finished second last with nine points.

Salgaocar FC needed a draw to clinch the title from Sporting Clube de Goa whilst the latter started their last engagement with an outside chance of qualifying for the final round.

Both teams started cautiously but it was the Salgaocar lads, who started the Goa Zone in a flourish and enjoyed better of the exchanges through the ninety minutes of play. Sporting Clube de Goa pressed hard for a result but it was the boys from Vasco who looked more dangerous in their counter forays.

Salgaocar FC were more threatening with Komarpant having another great day for the winners – tearing into the Sporting defence with his runs and intelligent crosses. However, beating the Sporting keeper was a problem the winners could not get over.

Sporting Clube de Goa were more definitive in the second session of play and had two clear chances during this period which they failed to utilise.

When it looked like the game was heading for a draw, Salgaocar FC broke through the Sporting defence with a goal in the 85th minute. Valentino Nazareth, after getting a ball in his own half, ran solo for around thirty yards and let go a shot that sealed his team the title from their rivals.

Salgaocar FC started without five of their regular players as they had already qualified after their last game against FC Goa which they had lost by a goal. A draw sufficed for the winners.

In the other match at SFA ground in Sirssaim, Dempo SC had to wait for the hour mark to beat Sesa FA through a goal scored by Kimran.

FC Goa play Churchill Brothers in the last match of the Goa Zone today. FC Goa with 18 points is the second team from Goa to qualify for the final round. Churchill Brothers FC is the only team from Goa not to have a single point in their kitty.

Check Also

AFC expects ISL to introduce ‘promotion and relegation’ within time frame of 3 or 5 years

NT NETWORK Panaji The All India Football Federation (AIFF) is expecting the Asian Football Council …